Who owns Antarctica?

The Antarctic Treaty is an agreement signed originally by countries that had active scientists and researchers in the Antarctic region on December 1, 1959. The 12 nations that were operative in studying and examining the Antarctic region are Argentina, Australia, Belgium, Chile, France, Japan, New Zealand, Norway, South Africa, United Kingdom, United States of America, and the USSR. The 12 signatories claimed territories in the continent, and some of these territories overlap each other. Some vital specifications of the Antarctic Treaty are:

1. Antarctica is only to be associated with harmonious motives.

2. The entirety of the Antarctic region should be available for assessments.

3. Scientific researches and outcomes shall be interchanged and accessible.